Skip to content

Playing Multiple Versions/Platforms

So I have BGEE, SoD, and BG2EE that I got on Steam way back when they came out at various points. In the interim I found the Beamdog site and turned my attention there for all things BG related. Over the last period of time I have now acquired BGEE, SoD, and BG2EE, and IWDEE, thru the Beamdog client. This makes me happy today because Steam is a major pain with having to manipulate files all over the place in order to play Mods and stuff, things I'm not good at. My question is this:

Since I have the Steam versions can I play those as a Standard Vanilla game without Mods, then use my Beamdog versions to set up The EET Trilogy thru BWS and adding Mods, and be able to play that Modded version thru the Beamdog client?

I have paid for complete versions for both, which is fine at this point, and my intention is to set up EET on a totally separate drive and Beamdogs client makes it easy to choose install path's, and I don't have to fool around with Modmerge.

Is this possible? Sorry I'm such a dummy, your talkin to a guy who has the original BG CD's in their folding CD jacket, with the Map, and the original play thru manuals all the way to ToB, so I just wanna have fun.

Comments

• [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited February 2018
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
    Post edited by [Deleted User] on
  • GusindaGusinda Member Posts: 1,915
    @Bloodstone, I mentioned this in a previous post about a similar occurance (having multiple installs) so I will just copy and paste...

-- Snip --
    If you want to separate you saved games etc, in the 2.x games you can edit the 'engine.lua' to set the name of the saved folder.

As an example, by default BGEE 2.3.x is engine_name = "Baldur's Gate - Enhanced Edition". To prevent any conflict with the 1.3 games, I set my engine.lua to engine_name = "Baldur's Gate - Enhanced Edition.2.3". You can't change the 1.3 which seems to be hard set.