Skip to content

Politics. The feel in your country.

Comments

• elminsterelminster Member, Developer Posts: 16,316
    edited September 2014
    Is it legally binding? There seem to be conflicting sources on this, like the UK Prime Minister says he will consider it to be binding but I don't know what the actual law says on the matter.
  • HeindrichHeindrich Member, Moderator Posts: 2,959
    The Scottish Referendum is legally binding. I am not a lawyer, but in agreeing to hold the referendum, the UK accepted the possibility of Scottish Independence. Modern Britain appears to be remarkably faithful to its public announcements of support for liberty and self-determination, even when it's national interest is severely threatened as is the case with potential Scottish secession.

If there is a Yes vote, Scotland will leave the Union and will become an independent nation. What is not clear is how this will be implemented and the negotiations leading up to actual independence will take many months, if not years. The SNP want a declaration of independence by early 2016, but that's probably optimistic given the plethora of sensitive and core interests that need to be settled by the Westminster and Edinburgh governments.
  • simplessimples Member Posts: 540

Rouble you Russian people

fixed that for you

• dunbardunbar Member Posts: 1,603
    edited September 2014
    As an Englishman I would like to see each country within the UK retain it's own distinct cultural identity but I can't see how everyone going their own separate ways benefits the UK as a whole. My biggest fear is that a 'yes' vote (for Scottish independence) will be seen as a vote against the English as a race rather than a vote against Westminster itself, which is widely disliked throughout all of the UK.
  • MoomintrollMoomintroll Member Posts: 1,498