Skip to content

Politics. The feel in your country.

Comments

• FardragonFardragon Member Posts: 4,511

Fardragon said:

Since there is no way to answer the question of "where to draw the line", you have to fall back on natural justice. Every human is of equal value, irrespective of intelligence, so you have to give every human a vote, irrespective of intelligence.

I find that an interesting fallacy that is often taken to ridiculous extremes in modern discourse. "Every human is of equal value" is not logically equivalent to "every human's opinion is of equal value". An expert's opinion is more valuable than a layman's. At least, I think it should be.
    How do you define "an expert"? How do you measure expertise? Who gets to set the test? Expert in what? I'm an expert in astrophysics, but not in economics.

None of these questions have an objective answer, so you have to fall back on everyone's opinion being of equal value because there is no way to objectively determine who is an idiot and who is not an idiot.

Unless you reach the conclusion that ALL humans are idiots, and place government into the hands of AI.
  • jjstraka34jjstraka34 Member Posts: 9,850
    Fardragon said:

Fardragon said:

Since there is no way to answer the question of "where to draw the line", you have to fall back on natural justice. Every human is of equal value, irrespective of intelligence, so you have to give every human a vote, irrespective of intelligence.

I find that an interesting fallacy that is often taken to ridiculous extremes in modern discourse. "Every human is of equal value" is not logically equivalent to "every human's opinion is of equal value". An expert's opinion is more valuable than a layman's. At least, I think it should be.
    How do you define "an expert"? How do you measure expertise? Who gets to set the test? Expert in what? I'm an expert in astrophysics, but not in economics.