Skip to content

Whoever wrote this (Philip Daigle) seems to be the problem

br4zilbr4zil Member Posts: 24
MAJOR EDIT: (due to Dee clarifying that apparently Amber Scott didint had a major role in this, i am changing my OP and Thread title)

This is also a respectful Critique of whoever participated in writing SoD, while i wont sugercoat the aspects i find their skills lacking, this is not an insult or an attack on the team personally, but somebody has to have responsability and they should be called out on it.

Also, ANY profession isnt above criticism, if an engineer designs your forklift to support... say 3 tons and the thing breaks while trying to lift 2 tons, the engineer is directly at fault. Same with writers.

With that said, the problem is that they are just very bad RPG writers.

I have been writing RPG adventures for almost 10 years now, not professionally, but as a hobbist. There are alot of "little things" one picks up while doing that, things that i belive to be only learned through experience. Things that i think Philip Daigle and whoever else helped him out doesnt have (the writing clearly seems to of a novice level).

Anyway, on with it (if you have patience for a long wall of text, that is) :D

Every point he wants to bring, even the ones classified as "SJWish" could have been bought up within the universe, not ham-fisted like it was. But let me explain first:

He forgets basic DMing/Adventure making principles such as allowing a multi-branched adventure, diferent outcomes and diferent aligment possibilities for players.

He doesnt even follow the "golden rule" of allowing at least 5 types of Aligments to work within the story. I know its a bit harder to do in videogame RPG, but the vast majority of Virtual RPGs follow that rule somewhat.

He says "Jaheira was Khalid's nagging wife", when even the original writers have said they made Jaheira to be basically the "head,muscle and brains" of the couple, due to Khalid being the weakling he is.