Skip to content

What the hell have you people done to my beloved game?!

Comments

• JuliusBorisovJuliusBorisov Member, Administrator, Moderator, Developer Posts: 22,714
    I studied marketing enough to understand one simple fact - you can't create anything good if you don't like what you're doing.

The first and foremost principle of Beamdog is to create games that the developers love. This is why it has been about D&D and Axis & Allies till this point.

According to the latest interview with Trent, Beamdog "reached the end of the line on the titles we wanted to do personally".
    SkatanDreadKhan
  • AmmarAmmar Member Posts: 1,295
    Raduziel wrote: »
    Ammar wrote: »
    One of my pet peeves is the implementation of the int requirement to scribe scrolls. Per PnP the correct way would be a int requirement to cast spells, which is much more meaningful and strict. Now you just circumvent the limit by passing around the Golden Ioun Stone or by drinking Potions of Genius. So now it is just annoying busy-work, instead of actually adding something to the game. According to Beamdog this was fixing a bug, as the restriction was there but not working. But who knows if part of the original team did not decide to leave it out when they tested ToB (the first time the restriction would have mattered for NPCs), when they thought about it would add little more than annoying the player?

Actually, you're wrong. In PnP Intelligence serves to determine which circle of spell you may cast, your learning chance and the number of spells per circle you can have.
    94v64zs6q7mh.jpg

I didn't say the maximum level of the spells you can cast was the only thing it affects. What you are saying is completely consistent with what I did.

Though I think I how you misunderstood me.

Of course, that Int affects the chance of scribing is completely correct per PnP, and was always implemented in BG.