Skip to content

Web too powerful

Hey all,

New here, decided to give this legendary game a try and haven't played it before. Not a total noob as played fantastic more recent RPGs like DAO, DOS, and NWN so excuse my unawareness.

Trying here solo and was looking good and very strong with Barbarian however I get systematically stopped at the Cloakwood second area with the spiders and the notorious Web traps.

The problem is two-fold. The barbarian class has no solution to the traps and more importantly the Web trap is way too powerful implemented. In fact it can decimate even a whole 6 party group.

I like the spell but is it should be relaxed. The immobility is okay and sound but the inability to retaliate melee or inability to shoot arrows or even cast spell just makes no sense. Why it this spell implemented so punishing ? Shouldn't the character at least be able to cast or fight from the immobile position ? This spell acts like a total paralysis.

So my Barbarian gets stopped solo there. Need a thief combo apparently, like FMT.

Comments

• OrlonKronsteenOrlonKronsteen Member Posts: 905
    I don't play solo, but if I was trying to get a lone barbarian through the spider map in the Cloakwood, I'd try to get my hands on some potions of freedom, and/or a potion/ring of invisibility. Potions of freedom will make you immune to web. With invisibility, you can avoid the spiders all together. Even if you do trigger a web trap, nothing can see you to attack you and you can either wait until the effect ends or until you make your save and can start moving again.
  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235
    @Soido The game is not designed for solo play. Its POSSIBLE if you really know what you are doing, but no single class has a solution or defense against every situation. The is designed to be tackled with a party of varied classes.
    StummvonBordwehrConjurerDragonQuartz
  • SoidoSoido Member Posts: 338