Skip to content

Baldur's Gate III released into Early Access

Comments

• byrne20byrne20 Member Posts: 503
    edited November 2020
    My opinion is a game (any game) can only become a good one if developers are trying to make the game that they'd like to play.

I'm a big Baldur's Gate fan, myself, and I think BG3 works for me quite alright.

I am with you on this. I am also a massive BG fan. I’ve been playing both of them since I was about 12 years old and they will always hold a very special place for me, and nothing could replace them.

I don’t have as much time these days to game as I would like but the time I have spent in the BG3 early access had been awesome. I’ve enjoyed it a lot. I am loving being back in Faerun again. I really can’t wait to see the city of Baldur’s Gate in game.
    JuliusBorisovArviaDinoDinMirandel
  • SjerrieSjerrie Member Posts: 1,234
    That's the thing with opinions: they are not equally shared amongst people.

I am with @kanisatha on this. During the last couple of months, the more I learned about what kind of game Vincke and his team wants to play... the less their idea appealed to me on a personal level. It is not an overstatement to say that Larian's taste and my own are polar opposites to each other.

Maybe Sven and team really are such massive fans of the series as they say they are, but it is obviously for different reasons than myself and some other frequent commenters here. That's fine, different strokes and all that. It's just a shame that apparently those differences are unable to be reconciled in the same game.
    KamigoroshiThacoBellkanisathaRedRodent
  • ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235
    I really cannot reconcile Larian claiming to be big fans, with how BG3 is turning out so far. Nothing in the game looks like BG to me, none of the writing sounds or feels like BG to me, none of the mechanics make me think of BG at all.