Skip to content

Why do you guys reroll (stats) so much?

Comments

• VallmyrVallmyr Member, Mobile Tester Posts: 2,456
    I should also mention, since we brought up the cheating thing, my view on mods/cheating/etc.

Baldur's Gate is based on D&D, and to me, the greatest part about D&D is when we blend rules and homebrew stuff. I'm a hardcore rules lawyer when I play PnP games but homebrew is just as important, in my opinion, as the rules written. I don't mind people changing the rules as long as they know the original rules.

This carries over to D&D crpgs for me.

Mods and cheating are me homebrewing my own game. Games I run use point-buy so for me Baldur's Gate uses my own version of that.

Mods that change mechanics, add classes, and such things are just more homebrew rules to be added.

My first run of a game will always be vanilla but any runs after that I mod the hell out of the game.

To me, this ability to choose how we play makes this even closer to how actual D&D is. People who love to roll can roll, people who don't love to roll don't have to.

Side note, when I do one-shot games I let players roll for their stats with 2 re-rolls. 4d6, drop the lowest, re-roll ones.
    JarrakulJuliusBorisovdunbar
  • hisplshispls Member Posts: 166
    This thread is a real alignment check isn't it?

Personally I'm pretty happy with anything 88 or better and will roll until I see that.

I think you'll be hard pressed to find a P&P game where some stat optimization isn't used. Either roll 3d6 10 times and take the best, roll 4d6 and drop the worst, or similar methods so that you don't have to play a complete gimp.