Skip to content

The creator of Forgotten Realms chimes in

Comments

• RoseweaveRoseweave Member Posts: 101
    laeknir said:

Roseweave said:

Tranny is a slur. It's not your word to use. I can use it and I'll let close friends use it in private. I'm getting really sick of this "I'm not transphobic" nonsense when you're just defining transphobia in a way that never covers the crap you say.

This is simply not true. I am a therapist who works with people in the LGBTQ community, and "tranny" is absolutely not a slur.

It is a term that has fallen out of favor. Some trans people prefer to use the term for self-description (including some trans authors), and others dislike and object to it. But inherently, the term is not a slur.

At this moment in time, GLAAD has suggested that reporters and others let the term fall into disuse so that it isn't misunderstood, but make no mistake there are trans people who claim the term and proudly use it - and they don't mind when others use it.

Back the hell up. I am trans, I am telling you it's a slur. I use the word for self description because it's my word to use. Not yours. It is a slur. The majority of trans women will tell you this. It's often the last thing we hear before we're beaten unconscious(or dead). Knock off the cisplaining please.
  • MaximvsMaximvs Member Posts: 94
    Roseweave said:

Here's the problem - you say this - but then when we try to explain to you the systems that are in place that stand in the way of LGBT representation etc. you dismiss THAT as some conspiracy. Like, there are reasons why people don't chance it with trans characters and after this you should see why.