Howdy, Stranger!

It looks like you're new here. If you want to get involved, click one of these buttons!

Categories

New Premium Module: Tyrants of the Moonsea! Read More
Attention, new and old users! Please read the new rules of conduct for the forums, and we hope you enjoy your stay!

Project Infinity - public BETA for all

11213141618

Comments

  • SumSineRegnoSumSineRegno Member Posts: 21
    edited December 2019
    @ALIEN Thank you, and I got to compliment your design choices for making it that apparent in how it worked by just using it. Found your tool to be quite intuitive to use.

    leeux
  • ALIENALIEN Member Posts: 1,032
    That's really nice to hear <3 High-tech users will always figure things out but my main focus was to make it intuitive for beginners.

    SumSineRegno
  • HenaniganHenanigan Member Posts: 29
    edited January 2
    I ran into what may be a bug using the EET-in-one-go method.

    This is reproducible for me. I get an installation error in PI for the following installation sequence:
    bg1npc:0:The BG1 NPC Project: Required Modifications
    EET:0:EET core (resource importation)
    ascension:50:Improved Slayer Transformation
    
    However, installing the same components manually works just fine. In both cases I'm starting from a clean slate (i.e., my unmodded game folders from backup) -- the only difference being that for my manual install, I'm moving the mod files into my game folders obviously. The mod files are the same, all paths double-checked.

    This is the immediate context of the error from the debug logs. Using PI:
    [./override/player1.dlg] loaded, 52 bytes
    [player1.dlg.DLG] loaded
    [player1.dlg] created from [PLAYER1.DLG]
    ERROR: illegal 4-byte read from offset -1 of 16-byte file player1.dlg
    ERROR: [player1.dlg] -> [override] Patching Failed (COPY) (Failure("player1.dlg: read out of bounds"))
    Stopping installation because of error.
    
    Manual install:
    [./override/player1.dlg] loaded, 45813 bytes
    [player1.dlg.DLG] loaded
    [player1.dlg] created from [PLAYER1.DLG]
    Adding PLAYER1 to internal list of available DLGs
    
    Edited to add: This looks like someone else having the same problem: https://gibberlings3.net/forums/topic/30720-ascension-with-eet-installation-error/ (it may not be Ascension or EET though?).
    https://forums.beamdog.com/discussion/comment/1109768/#Comment_1109768

    Post edited by Henanigan on
  • ALIENALIEN Member Posts: 1,032
    @Henanigan I can't do anything without logs. Please zip and upload "Logs" folder.

  • HenaniganHenanigan Member Posts: 29
    Sorry, I replaced the entire folder, did not save them. Should be easy enough fo you to reproduce though, or if it's not reproducible then never mind :)

  • SumSineRegnoSumSineRegno Member Posts: 21
    edited December 2019
    Say, I broke my install order by accidentally dragging the wrong thing. Does anyone have the default installed mod categories? Or advice on how to fully reset it. Essentially, by dragging the wrong thing I dragged a whole category instead of a mod...

    I think I should use the arrows in the future...

    Adding in the load order so you can check to see if I have it fixed.
    eet-sod
    eet
    fixes
    ui-overwrite
    quests
    npc
    npc-related
    items
    spells
    kits
    tweaks
    ai-before
    ai
    ai-after
    worldmap
    sounds
    portrait
    scripts
    ui-patching
    late
    last
    eet-end
    default

    Post edited by SumSineRegno on
  • ALIENALIEN Member Posts: 1,032
    @SumSineRegno In order to reset groups order, delete 'ProjectInfinity-Groups-Order.txt'.

    SumSineRegno
  • SumSineRegnoSumSineRegno Member Posts: 21
    ALIEN wrote: »
    @SumSineRegno In order to reset groups order, delete 'ProjectInfinity-Groups-Order.txt'.

    Thank you, I deleted it to make sure. So it only creates one when you change the order?

  • EndarireEndarire Member Posts: 224
    @ALIEN
    How do I import a BWS .ini file into PI?

    What is meant by '24/7 maintenance?'

  • EndarireEndarire Member Posts: 224
    Request: Add a text box where we can search for mods by text. For example, "TDD" or "DD" would show "TDD" and "TDDz."

  • ArthasIIArthasII Member Posts: 177
    If one wants to add support for his mod into project infinity, all he needs to do is just add metadata, am I wrong?

    https://github.com/ALIENQuake/ProjectInfinity/wiki/Adding-metadata-for-mod

  • ALIENALIEN Member Posts: 1,032
    Happy New Year everyone!

    leeuxSumSineRegno
  • leeuxleeux Member Posts: 115
    Happy New Year! \o/ Wish y'all the best for the coming year <3

  • SumSineRegnoSumSineRegno Member Posts: 21
    Happy new year as well, and hope the year goes well to you all. Anyways, going to re-iterate my appreciation my appreciation for this modding tool.

    leeux
  • mike123mike123 Member Posts: 2
    I'm unable to select any checkboxes for mods I've extracted. My only guess as to why this is, is that when opening Project Infinity for the first time, I did not give it permission to update the Windows Registry. On subsequent times opening Project Infinity, I am not prompted to give this permission.

    Does that seem like a likely explanation for me being unable to select the mod checkboxes? Or could there be another reason? Thanks!

  • KnuckelsKnuckels Member Posts: 3
    edited January 4
    ALIEN wrote: »
    @Henanigan I can't do anything without logs. Please zip and upload "Logs" folder.

    If you still need it, here a fresh compressed one.

    To go back from what i said here, especially:
    Don't known if it's from Project Infinity or WeiDU, but WeiDU.log's comments seem to be striped for BGEE when you use the "all-in-one-and-go" installation method.

    After some observations, it's seem that during an installation process with Project Infinity, all comments in WeiDU.log are vanished and only reappear at the end of a successful installation, no matter of the game.

    I don't know how you call/use WeiDU into your project, but did you use the '--quick-log' option or equivalent?

    Post edited by Knuckels on
    ALIEN
  • ALIENALIEN Member Posts: 1,032
    @Knuckels Thanks, for logs. Yes, I'm using '--quick-log' to speed up installation. It's known bug with "all-in-one-and-go" installation method and it will be fixed.

  • GwendolyneGwendolyne Member Posts: 310
    As you know, SHS mods are currently transferred to SHS official GitHub account. It would be nice if you might add it to the download tool, as per G3 one.
    Thanks and good work! ;)

    ALIEN
  • EndarireEndarire Member Posts: 224
    How should I translate the contents of this file into PI and apply the appropriate sorting order?

    Thankee!

  • ALIENALIEN Member Posts: 1,032
    edited January 9
    @Endarire
    You can do things with this file :
    1. Paste this list into 'Install Sequence' window so it will install every mods from the list
    2. Edit the list and remove mods that you don't want, then perform the installation.
    3. Convert this list into 'sorting order file' so you can use it to get the desired install order without having to manually edit install sequence every time.

    What do you want to achieve?

    BTW: you have EET_End but the list is missing
    EET:0:Core
    

    Post edited by ALIEN on
  • EndarireEndarire Member Posts: 224
    edited January 10
    @ALIEN
    I realized EET Core was missing after posting this.

    The end goal is to create a stable list of install options so I needn't select which components of each mod to install each time. If I'm not using an install order file like that doc, how to save the component list between runnings of PI?

    For example, the order of components will save (EET then NPCs then EET end then stuff), but the components for each won't. Thus, each time I open PI, I must, for example, enable EET Core, EET End, and each other mod I want. How to fix this?

    Also, upon selecting the KaraTur mod by left-clicking it, the mod disappears from the list and a buncha other mods with it! (Maybe that's due to my massive mod list.) Reopening PI returns the mods to the list where they were pre-bug, but I get this error. Seemingly, it isn't directly linked to KaraTur, but to whatever mod was in that slot on the list. (PI doesn't crash, but opening this error message made me feel I should close PI and reopen it to regain my stuff.)

    See the end of this message for details on invoking
    just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.
    ************** Exception Text **************
    System.Management.Automation.ScriptCallDepthException: The script failed due to call depth overflow.
    at System.Management.Automation.ExecutionContext.CheckStackDepth()
    at System.Management.Automation.CommandProcessorBase.DoExecute()
    at System.Management.Automation.Internal.Pipe.AddToPipe(Object obj)
    at System.Management.Automation.ExceptionHandlingOps.ReportErrorRecord(IScriptExtent extent, RuntimeException rte, ExecutionContext context)
    at System.Management.Automation.ExceptionHandlingOps.CheckActionPreference(FunctionContext funcContext, Exception exception)
    at <ScriptBlock>(Closure , FunctionContext )
    at System.Management.Automation.ScriptBlock.InvokeWithPipeImpl(ScriptBlockClauseToInvoke clauseToInvoke, Boolean createLocalScope, Dictionary`2 functionsToDefine, List`1 variablesToDefine, ErrorHandlingBehavior errorHandlingBehavior, Object dollarUnder, Object input, Object scriptThis, Pipe outputPipe, InvocationInfo invocationInfo, Object[] args)
    at System.Management.Automation.ScriptBlock.<>c__DisplayClass57_0.<InvokeWithPipe>b__0()
    at System.Management.Automation.Runspaces.RunspaceBase.RunActionIfNoRunningPipelinesWithThreadCheck(Action action)
    at System.Management.Automation.ScriptBlock.InvokeWithPipe(Boolean useLocalScope, ErrorHandlingBehavior errorHandlingBehavior, Object dollarUnder, Object input, Object scriptThis, Pipe outputPipe, InvocationInfo invocationInfo, Boolean propagateAllExceptionsToTop, List`1 variablesToDefine, Dictionary`2 functionsToDefine, Object[] args)
    at System.Management.Automation.ScriptBlock.InvokeAsDelegateHelper(Object dollarUnder, Object dollarThis, Object[] args)
    at System.Windows.Forms.TreeView.OnAfterSelect(TreeViewEventArgs e)
    at System.Windows.Forms.TreeView.TvnSelected(NMTREEVIEW* nmtv)
    at System.Windows.Forms.TreeView.WmNotify(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.TreeView.WndProc(Message& m)
    at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


    ************** Loaded Assemblies **************
    mscorlib
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4075.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework64/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
    PoshExeHostWinV5
    Assembly Version: 5.0.34.0
    Win32 Version: 0.7.8.0
    CodeBase: file:///F:/PI/ProjectInfinity.exe
    System.Windows.Forms
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4042.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
    System
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4001.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    System.Drawing
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
    System.Management.Automation
    Assembly Version: 3.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.771
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Management.Automation/v4.0_3.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/System.Management.Automation.dll
    System.Core
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4075.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
    Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.Diagnostics
    Assembly Version: 3.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.Diagnostics/v4.0_3.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.Diagnostics.dll
    System.Configuration.Install
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration.Install/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.Install.dll
    Microsoft.PowerShell.ConsoleHost
    Assembly Version: 3.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.PowerShell.ConsoleHost/v4.0_3.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.PowerShell.ConsoleHost.dll
    Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.Utility
    Assembly Version: 3.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.Utility/v4.0_3.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.Utility.dll
    Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.Management
    Assembly Version: 3.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.Management/v4.0_3.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.Management.dll
    Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure/v4.0_1.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.dll
    Microsoft.PowerShell.Security
    Assembly Version: 3.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.PowerShell.Security/v4.0_3.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.PowerShell.Security.dll
    Microsoft.WSMan.Management
    Assembly Version: 3.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.348
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.WSMan.Management/v4.0_3.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.WSMan.Management.dll
    System.Configuration
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
    System.Xml
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
    System.Data
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_64/System.Data/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Data.dll
    System.Management
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Management/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Management.dll
    System.DirectoryServices
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.DirectoryServices/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.DirectoryServices.dll
    Anonymously Hosted DynamicMethods Assembly
    Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4075.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_64/mscorlib/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/mscorlib.dll
    System.Transactions
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_64/System.Transactions/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Transactions.dll
    System.Numerics
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Numerics/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Numerics.dll
    ⧹powershell
    Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.771
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Management.Automation/v4.0_3.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/System.Management.Automation.dll
    0zef14yg
    Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4001.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.CimCmdlets
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.CimCmdlets/v4.0_1.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.CimCmdlets.dll
    Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.Native
    Assembly Version: 1.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.1 (WinBuild.160101.0800)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_64/Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.Native/v4.0_1.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.Native.dll
    Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.UserFilteredExceptionHandling
    Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 10.0.17763.1 (WinBuild.160101.0800)
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_64/Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.Native/v4.0_1.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/Microsoft.Management.Infrastructure.Native.dll
    System.Web.Extensions
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4075.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Web.Extensions/v4.0_4.0.0.0__31bf3856ad364e35/System.Web.Extensions.dll
    System.Web
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4075.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_64/System.Web/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Web.dll
    System.IO.Compression.ZipFile
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.IO.Compression.ZipFile/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.IO.Compression.ZipFile.dll
    System.Design
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Design/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Design.dll
    khgqjvz3
    Assembly Version: 0.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.4001.0 built by: NET48REL1LAST_C
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
    Accessibility
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0 built by: NET48REL1
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Accessibility/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Accessibility.dll
    Microsoft.CSharp
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/Microsoft.CSharp/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/Microsoft.CSharp.dll
    System.Dynamic
    Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
    Win32 Version: 4.8.3761.0
    CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Dynamic/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Dynamic.dll

    ************** JIT Debugging **************
    To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
    application or computer (machine.config) must have the
    jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
    The application must also be compiled with debugging
    enabled.

    For example:

    <configuration>
    <system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
    </configuration>

    When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
    will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
    rather than be handled by this dialog box.

    Post edited by Endarire on
  • ALIENALIEN Member Posts: 1,032
    @Endarire
    Also, upon selecting the KaraTur mod by left-clicking it, the mod disappears from the list and a buncha other mods with it!

    KaraTur has a bugged 'BACKUP' keyword, remove first '\' from tp2 file and it and it will work. Which other mods are disappearing? Can you send the logs?
    The end goal is to create a stable list of install options so I needn't select which components of each mod to install each time. If I'm not using an install order file like that doc, how to save the component list between runnings of PI?

    For example, the order of components will save (EET then NPCs then EET end then stuff), but the components for each won't. Thus, each time I open PI, I must, for example, enable EET Core, EET End, and each other mod I want. How to fix this?

    A permanent save of the components is not currently possible, this is weidu limitation. It can only be partially avoided by using the install sequence data + sorting order file. Or by importing weidu.log. Improvements for this process are planned, though.

    BTW: Please use spoilers for a large amount of text.

  • EndarireEndarire Member Posts: 224
    edited January 11
    @Alien
    I didn't find any slashes in KaraTur file names. More specifically, how to fix this?

    (Once I've checked other mods, I can notify you of what else seems buggy.)

    If PI doesn't allow saving of elements (EET Core 0, Klatu 0/1/etc.) between runs, why does Big World Setup without specifically saving to an INI?

    Thankee!

  • ALIENALIEN Member Posts: 1,032
    edited January 11
    @Endarire Open setup-karatur.tp2, replace:
    BACKUP ~\KaraTur\Kbackup~
    
    with
    BACKUP ~KaraTur\Kbackup~
    
    If PI doesn't allow saving of elements (EET Core 0, Klatu 0/1/etc.) between runs, why does Big World Setup without specifically saving to an INI?
    Because BWS is lying to the end-user. It offers players a feature that is guaranteed to fail, and the player won't even notice it until they will play for a week or do very careful debugging before starting a new game.

    Let's assume for a moment that you have prepared a medium installation with 25-50 mods. BWS saved component list inside ini. Then you have preformed installation, everything went fine. You have started a new game and played from BG1 till ToB for like 3 months. You have killed the final boss, hooray!

    Now it's time for a new installation which will have all the previous components and one small mod added. You start BWS, you load you ini which you saved 3 months ago and you are including one extra mod. Then you start the installation, there were no errors, everything went fine. You are ready to start your new adventure. You have played for one week and notice some oddities for game rules. After another week, you notice that some quests/tweaks/other things are missing. Finally, you notice that one of your most beloved things like a quest, tweak, NPC or specific item/banter is missing and this was your breaking point. You have your old installation as a backup so you compare old weidu.log with a new one. You discover that there are not only missing components, but there are also some components that you swear you didn't choose 3 months ago. What did the hell happened?

    The BWS ini which you saved a long time ago has old numbers of the components and it didn't reflect mod updates. So some components were missing or worse, some components have switched their numbers so BWS installed different ones that you have selected 3 months ago. Even if BWS was also updated to reflect mod changes, you have no way to update you old ini (except by creating a new one) and you have no idea if the above problems happen because there is no way to logically verify you ini.

    This might look uncommon but during my 3+ years of using BWS, it happens all the time. The more mods, the often it happens.

    BWS approach to this problem is: ignore this, who cares. My approach is: do not make false promises to the players. I would rather spend 3 months in order to fix this general flaw at the origin then spend 3 minutes implementing such crap.

    The reason why it works like that is faulty WeiDU design. The good news: It can be fixed. The bad news: WeiDU and mods need to be updated.

    Post edited by ALIEN on
    Timbo0o0o0leeux
  • HenaniganHenanigan Member Posts: 29
    ALIEN wrote: »
    The BWS ini which you saved a long time ago has old numbers of the components and it didn't reflect mod updates. So some components were missing or worse, some components have switched their numbers so BWS installed different ones that you have selected 3 months ago.
    Out of curiosity, would it be possible to update PI so that it saved your list of selections, but on reopening that save file generated a new list and compared the two, mod by mod (both component positions and component descriptions)? And if they don't match, display a big red warning to the effect that, 'this component has changed, I have deselected it for you'. Whereas if position and description do match, then keep the selection. Off the top of my head, you would get false positives if a mod changed its description but not the actual content, which should be acceptable. Keeping the selections that did not change in 3 months would be a big help as compared to selecting all of them all over again, I think.

  • ALIENALIEN Member Posts: 1,032
    edited January 11
    @Henanigan Regarding the error, I can reproduce it and it's EET bug. More about it here

    Regarding your proposal: I have thought about it but the position of the components is meaningless and the mods have translations. It's better to handle this properly, once for all. Besides, install sequence data has now basic verification and later, if someone will paste incorrect data, he will get a nice report of what is missing etc.

  • EndarireEndarire Member Posts: 224
    @ALIEN
    7c#sartweak, upon clicking it in PI, disappears from the list.

  • HenaniganHenanigan Member Posts: 29
    edited January 12
    ALIEN wrote: »
    Regarding your proposal: I have thought about it but the position of the components is meaningless and the mods have translations.
    Thanks for considering it. Translations should not matter if you compared the user's saved mod list to the user's current mod list, unless the user switched to/from a translated version, in which case it is a change and a warning seems justified.
    ALIEN wrote: »
    @Henanigan Regarding the error, I can reproduce it and it's EET bug. More about it here
    In my case, reported above, BG1NPC wasn't recently uninstalled though. In any case, great that these bugs have been pinned down.

Sign In or Register to comment.