Skip to content

Pathfinder : Kingmaker

Comments

• Jaheiras_WitnessJaheiras_Witness Member Posts: 614
    Yeah, also never played Pathfinder but seems very similar to D&D 3rd edition / IWD2 system so had no problem at all understanding the rule mechanisms other than for weird classes like kineticist and alchemist which required some experimenting.

I'm still fairly new to the game, only been playing around 3 months, but do not understand at all any of the complaints about the game being unfair or ridiculous difficulty spikes or anything like that. Actually seems really well balanced to me, my only peeve is with some of the random encounters you can get if you venture into Varnhold side of the map in Act 2 (which you have to do to get to Sorrowflow) and some of the killer ambushes you can get when resting. These can be far more difficult than even boss fights in the main game because you are caught with your pants down / unbuffed / flatfooted, which doesn't seem fair to me.

Some of the classes do probably need rebalancing. Kineticists and arcane tricksters seem too good. Pet classes are in a different league to their non-pet counterparts (at least for solo) and even better/worse, you can play a different class for the first 4 levels, take pet class at level 5, take boon companion as your level 5 feat and you have a full-power pet that can already do wonders. 1 level dips into monk and vivisectionist also seem to give crazy benefit, should change monk AC from WIS to be like Sword Saint AC from INT at 1 per level rather than big bang. And maybe Mutagen should be 1 min per level rather than 10 mins.