Skip to content

Will BGEE be available on steam?

Comments

• TreyolenTreyolen Member Posts: 235
    @Lediath I actually added an S to the end of Origin by accident. Richard Garriot created the Ultima RPG series and Origin was his company. Wing Commander was pretty cool as well, but Ultima was the main focus. EA shot, stabbed, burned, and then drowned the company before exiling Lord British. Bioware ain't dead yet I guess, but they ain't the same either. Removing the single player component of their upcoming C&C release is just another sign of bad things to come. I would love to be proven wrong on this count.
  • LediathLediath Member Posts: 125
    @Treyolen haha point taken. I have little to no knowledge about Origin but I think BioWare is still chugging along. Let's not derail this thread anymore

#backontopic

My final thought on whether BGEE it should be release on steam. Short answer YES. Long answer, yes because I think it will generate more sales for Beamdog, BUT it is their right to have their product be exclusive on their service for a long as they deem appropriate.
  • DeeDee Member Posts: 10,447
    edited August 2012
    The question is always, will it generate enough sales to make it worthwhile considering that Overhaul will see a much smaller percentage of that revenue than if you purchase it from them directly.

I don't think anyone's doubting that more people will buy it if it's on Steam; it's just a matter of whether or not the difference will be significant enough (from people who wouldn't know about the game otherwise, or from people who know about it but won't buy it without Steam) to make it worthwhile.
    mlnevese
  • bobsageekbobsageek Member Posts: 21