Skip to content

Average height of the races

SkatanSkatan Member, Moderator Posts: 5,352
Hello all,

Something I would like to know is if there's an official average height for each race and sub-race for FR. I've read about the races etc on the FR wiki, but not sure if it's all correct. I've also seen a couple of pictures depicting different races standing next to eachother but they seem off, as far as I've read in replies to them.

I would like to see, if one exist, a picture like this but with all the races or one for each race and its sub-races. Is there an official one with all the canon races and there respective heights?
http://www.3dnews.ru/documents/3708/elf_rase.jpg

I'm mostly interrested in the shorty races; halflings, gnomes and dwarves in respect to humans.

I have no experience from PnP, thus I've not read any handbooks.

(I did a forum search but couldn't find a thread with this topic)

Cheers,
//Skat.

Comments

• PK2748PK2748 Member Posts: 381
    You can download the entire 2nd edition game manual online fairly casually and that has the height, weight and lifespan of all the demihuman species/races.
  • wubblewubble Member Posts: 3,156
    From my 3.5 players handbook it's roughly:

humans 5' - 6'
    dwarves 4' - 4'6"
    elves 4'6" - 5'6"
    gnomes 3' - 3'6"
    half elves 5' - 6'
    half orc 6' - 7'
    halflings 3'
  • semiticgoddesssemiticgoddess Member Posts: 14,903
    Wow, halflings are short.
  • SkatanSkatan Member, Moderator Posts: 5,352
    edited November 2015

That's one of the reasons I asked. True, this is a fantasy setting, but it's quite unrealistic that a halfling, no matter its strenght etc, could ever fell an ogre or even a tall, sturdy halforc.

humans 5' - 6' = 152-183 cm.
    dwarves 4' - 4'6" = 122 - 140 cm.
    elves 4'6" - 5'6" = 140 - 171 cm.
    gnomes 3' - 3'6" = 91 - 110 cm.
    half elves 5' - 6' = 152-183 cm.
    half orc 6' - 7' = 183 - 213 cm.
    halflings 3' = 91 cm.