Skip to content

-HOW TO DO STUFF IN WEIDU-

SystemSystem Administrator Posts: 199
edited March 2020 in General Modding
In the last year or two, I have picked up a lot of little techniques to mod many aspects of the game. Occasionally people ask me for advice (even though I am still a rank amateur), and I try to help. But rather than answer this question here, that question there, etc., I thought it would be nice to publish a FAQ-style thread with lots of tips and stuff. The goal is, people can pick up this code and drop it into a mod they are working on, rather than having to reinvent the wheel. Every mod is individual and involves individual effort, but say someone want to make stat-based kit effects; I can at least help you drop in to code for handling opcode 326 and splprot.2da, and then you can focus on making whatever cool effects you can imagine.

There will be no particular order for this stuff; I'll publish what I can, when I have time, if the mood strikes.

First up, in answer to a request from @Reddbane: how to make stat-based effects with opcode 326.

Second: how to add kit effects to all kits of a given class (including mod-added ones)

Third: how to target your mod kit with unique effects

Fourth: how to alter class/kit descriptions and not worry about string references
Post edited by Tresset on
mf2112AquadrizztRavenslightargent77GrammarsaladJuliusBorisovBillyYanktbone1elminsterProontNoloirlolienDaeros_Trollkiller

Comments

• The user and all related content has been deleted.
  • BillyYankBillyYank Member Posts: 2,768
    edited November 2016
    You should add your tutorial/template on how to add an item here also.

Edit: Also, someone should sticky this thread. @JuliusBorisov
    JuliusBorisov
  • BillyYankBillyYank Member Posts: 2,768
    edited November 2016
  • [Deleted User][Deleted User] Posts: 0
    edited September 2018
    The user and all related content has been deleted.
    Post edited by [Deleted User] on