Skip to content

Is 'Wild Surge: Dizzy' logical?

SmoothgoalSmoothgoal Member Posts: 34
Hi guys,

I'm a bit new to the BG series and i'm currently looking at the Wild mage.

Everything in the Wild mage seems in OK for me, except that Dizzy effect. As of currently it causes 100% spell failure quite a long duration(over a turn) and its unblockable and undispellable - the only way to remove it is to wait for the full duration or do a normal rest(wish-resting doesn't seem to remove it).

It might be my inexperience in the games, but don't all status effects in the game have some sort of counter for them? I know that timestop is unblockable and undispellabe, but it makes sense to be so if its actually interpreted as an ultimate haste effect, besides it lasts only 3 rounds. Dizzy seems like something that should at least be heal-able.

For me it seems like some sort of oversight. To justify my way of thinking about it - I see that "wild surge: held" used to be also unblockable/undispellable, even though it was a clear bug instead of pure oversight, and was fixed.

What do you guys think?

Edit(Final): I don't consider the discussion needs to continue. The Dizzy does not have much sense from RP perspective. Considering that wild magic should be controlled at high levels. And if Dizzy is not magical, but physical it should be curable. But from gameplay perspective it does. There are plenty other wild surge effects that don't have a cure/block - Itchy, Hiccups, Weaken etc. There are also non wild surge effects that also don't have cure/block like fatigue or berserker. But all of those effects have clear 'counter'-effects(workarounds), like drinking a poition of strength against the -6 of Wild Surge: Weaken. So Dizzy can also be counteracted, but by hoarding scrolls/wands/other items and wisely using them in case of a Dizzy.
Post edited by Smoothgoal on
lolien

Comments

• tbone1tbone1 Member Posts: 1,985