Skip to content

Boxing Thread

DreadKhanDreadKhan Member Posts: 3,857
edited August 2017 in Off-Topic
Edit: Topic changed.

Noting I'm not an expert, I'd like to point out I have always felt that it'd be a relatively easy win for Mayweather, provided he doesn't throw the fight. Having heard every educated voice largely agreeing with me, I feel like at least I'm not a complete noob. ;)

So, I expect Mayweather's mobility and quick thinking/skill will still dominate this matchup, with Mcgregor landing surprisingly few blows. I suspect Mayweather will be able to strike with safety despite having less reach, again due to mobility and skill, though I don't expect Mayweather to get a knockout, I do expect a dominant performance.

The only edge I can see, and the only strategy that Mcgregor could bet on would be to get a few lucky punches early, most likely at the cost of being punched first. He's a bit heavier, and though MMA fighters don't get punched like boxers (either as powerfully or as constantly, as they have other options), he'll be used enough to being hit to make trading blows early a necessity. If Mcgregor fumbles on these trades, he might get knocked out, but I don't see him winning this fight unless he can slow down Mayweather, and giving him either some very big body shots (...these guys aren't heavyweights, so no padding on the tummy) or daze him a bit. I don't expect this to work, Mayweather has beaten probably quite a few professional boxers trying the same strategy, to hurt him early to bring him down to earth.