Skip to content

Suggestions Thread: Game Mechanics (scripts, spells, feats, combat)

Comments

• RumRum Member Posts: 10

Rum said:

The game is broken balance wise. It is at least broken for epic levels. The best classes are fighting classes with devastating critical, by far. Magic does not scale past 20. It's far too weak. The 'epic' spells for wizards are fairly pathetic. Hellball, that beam thing, the summoning spells, they are largely useless. Only the epic defensive spells have any merit. I've been playing crpgs since 2001 and BG in particular. One of the biggest flaws is lack of scaling. The DnD ruleset has barely been improved after 3.0 (and 3.0 is imo the very worst version). Both damage and penetration of level 1-9 spells have to scale up in effectiveness if NWN EE is going to be more than a smattering of melee builds being effective in pvp. the min-maxing stuff is really absurd and ruins the fun.

But all of this, can be fixed with scripting and modding, I'm sure you can find some of that fixes in the vault.
    May be (I'm not sure) "Community Patch Project" do it. https://neverwintervault.org/project/nwn1/other/patch/community-patch-project

It's very easy to do, a damage script based on the high level.

If you want 3.5 ruleset, can install this: https://neverwintervault.org/project/nwn1/hakpak/35-edition-balance-changes-bug-fixes-ai-improvements-and-more
    BD says they are working together with several modders and former employees of the original game, among these are the guys from NWValut ... one thing I wonder, for years the CEP and NWNX are the basis for playing NWN in multy and molty PW, why then does not BD implement them? would not it make more sense? instead of having to download all the files every time?
    In my opinion, modding it is part of this game, some modders don't play, only make mods or haks for other people play it.

But there are two principal reasons: