Skip to content

Politics. The feel in your country.

Comments

• ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235
    Ugh I HATE the "Life is unfair" doge. As if people's choices have no effect in the world and there is no reason to ever try to make things better. "Life is unfair" my arse. People just want excuses to be jerks.
    booinyoureyesBalrog99
  • booinyoureyesbooinyoureyes Member Posts: 6,164
    joluv said:

Dismissing overwhelming statistical evidence of inequality on the basis that numbers are dehumanizing is an absurd cop-out. Really disappointing.

You are quite literally favoring using race as a dispositive characteristic for favorable treatment rather than individualized characteristics that would account for actual hardship, a method that would already help those who have been disadvantaged on account of race.

That is dehumanizing.
    ThacoBellBalrog99
    Balrog99 said:

As a scientist I agree with @FinneousPJ on this. There is likely more at play here than just race. Family dynamics is one factor. Culture is another.

Even if it was just race in some instances, basing favorable treatment in hiring or acceptance into universities on more general hardship would help those who have suffered on account of their ethnicity/skin color. The problem is that this is apparently very hard to swallow in a culture that is increasingly placing racial identity above all else.
    ThacoBell
  • smeagolheartsmeagolheart Member Posts: 7,963
    Balrog99 said:

As a scientist I agree with @FinneousPJ on this. There is likely more at play here than just race. Family dynamics is one factor. Culture is another.