Skip to content

The lesser known historical facts thread

Comments

• ThacoBellThacoBell Member Posts: 12,235
    Trapdoor spiders are great.
  • ZaghoulZaghoul Member, Moderator Posts: 3,938
    @SharGuidesMyHand Nice. B) That wild pattern on the back of the spider almost looks like some ancient design one would come across during an archeological dig.
  • DrHappyAngryDrHappyAngry Member Posts: 1,577
    BillyYank said:

Sounds a lot like they were reading Xenophon's Anabasis when they came up with that system.

I first read the Anabasis when I was a journalist in the US Army. You could argue that he's the first war correspondent we know of. He was a retired general from Athens and only went along on the expedition so he could write a book about it. When the Persians murdered the Greek officers, he was elected overall leader of the 10,000.
    I hate to rain on your parade, but Xenophon, the writer of the Anabasis, was actually a young man when he signed up for the expedition. He was about 28-29 when they first left, not even old enough to speak in the Athenian assembly. Pretty much nothing is known about him before the expedition, other than he was a student of Socrates. It's pretty doubtful he could have been a strategoi before then, just due to his age. He did speak eloquently after the generals were killed, and put forth some good ideas, so he was put in charge of the rear guard. Timasion the Dardanian was elected top Strategoi above Xenophon. He didn't write about it until 30 years later, so it's not likely he went along with the intention to document the war, but I can't say for sure he didn't.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Xenophon
  • BillyYankBillyYank Member Posts: 2,768

BillyYank said:

Sounds a lot like they were reading Xenophon's Anabasis when they came up with that system.