Skip to content

The topic for unhappiness/vent your sorrow

Comments

• DrugarDrugar Member Posts: 1,566
    Chow said:

I seriously don't get it. Real-life roleplaying seems to thrive, even though people have to usually drive around to get to each other's places, which can last for hours. Online, all they need to do is to be in front of the computer when the game is on, and could really do so rather often on their free time, which allows potential for much more gaming. Yet it doesn't ever seem to work.

Having been in a number of online games and real life games (at some point four online and three in RL, busy times) I've got some experience with both and I'm also guilty of joining an online game and leaving a way's in. Problem is; the Internet is really easy to avoid and RP's (online and offline) require a fair amount of work.

I'm in a Vampire the Masquerade game at the moment, online. We post once per day, maybe two so it's not amazingly fast (except for the evenings where we all happen to be online at the same time) but when I check, I have to read up on old posts, imagine it all going on, think of what I'm going to do and then write it down in a somewhat eloquent fashion. Or I could alt-tab and look at cats or games or boobs or whatever, telling myself "I'll post later". The latter is much less work and when the game isn't particularly interesting at that moment (and no game always is), it's also more fun.

Online commitments everywhere, except maybe work-related conference calls, are always treated as less-serious than real life. Online commitment to play a game with friends easily take a backseat to RL things. Friends stopping by, telephone calls, remembered birthdays, girlfriend/boyfriend time, it's all more important than sitting at a keyboard typing letters for some other people over the internet.