Skip to content

David Gaider on representation in games

Comments

• tbone1tbone1 Member Posts: 1,985
    @David_Gaider Thanks for responding! I would just like to clarify a couple things:

I am sure you could do a good Native American character, but I can’t. There are nuances is phrases, word selection, speech patterns, etc, that I simply cannot get right unless I have enough personal experience with people

I am not a professional writer — okay, the checks cleared, so maybe I am technically, but I am not a writer by profession. I wrote comedy, which can be harder than drama, but I mostly wrote gags for one-dimensional characters and relied heavily on single-entendre. Fun, but not difficult.

And I agree, race is easier since it’s more obvious. At least, you think it is until you start watching Henry Louis Gates, Jr’s, shows. But as I said, you are a professional and I am a hack. I know my limits. I hope.
  • semiticgoddesssemiticgoddess Member Posts: 14,903
    It's entirely possible to accurately portray the experience of another person, as another person. It's just that you'll probably need a certain amount of research to fill in all the stuff you don't already know, and erase some of the preconceptions you probably started out with.

You might not know exactly what it's like to be every single member of a minority, but you don't have to--you just need to know what it's like to be your character, who is an individual in their own right.
  • FardragonFardragon Member Posts: 4,511
    You can only write what you know, no matter how good a writer you are. I can think of several times I've been reading books by high profile writers, and they wander into an area about which I know more than they do and "bam" I'm taken right out of the story, and usually can't continue.