Skip to content

Did you know?

Comments

• Wise_GrimwaldWise_Grimwald Member Posts: 3,848
    lroumen said:

Hehe I know, I was trying to be hypercorrect ;). Thanks for spoiling the parade :p

Sorry again. It was a good joke nonetheless. I only studied Latin for one year, but have found even that much to have been invaluable.
    AerakarlroumenProontWarChiefZeke
  • lroumenlroumen Member Posts: 2,508
    I studied medicine and it really helped with all the body parts and diseases.
    Wise_Grimwald
  • BillyYankBillyYank Member Posts: 2,768
    Raduziel said:

fluke13 said:

(that would explain why bus is omnibus in Brazilian Portuguese)

Ônibus, actually. But that' the idea.
    So if you ride a bus in Brazil you might meet a Japanese ogre?
    ThacoBellProontmlneveseAerakar
    edited June 2018
    If Brazil is anything like Nepal you'll also meet goats, chickens and corpses. The corpse was actually on the luggage rack, but that was where I had decided to sit, it being far more comfortable than inside. No, it wasn't a zombie.
    mlneveseStummvonBordwehrProontAerakar
  • mlnevesemlnevese Member, Moderator Posts: 10,214
    @Wise_Grimwald That' what they wanted you to believe...
    mlnevese said:

@Wise_Grimwald That' what they wanted you to believe...

:D
  • Abi_DalzimAbi_Dalzim Member Posts: 1,428

Sorry to spoil your joke but:

Actually the plural of omnibus is NOT omnibi. Omnibus is the dative plural and means "for all."

Origin and Etymology of omnibus

French, from Latin, for all, dative plural of omnis

English is a stupid language. We all know that, but by pinching words from other languages it has become a very expressive one which is one of the reasons why it is used so much.

The French are very purist as far as their language is concerned which is one reason for its decline.