Skip to content

Did you know?

Comments

• WarChiefZekeWarChiefZeke Member Posts: 2,651
    My favorite character level name comes from the Assassin. At level 3, they are known as the fearsome Waghalter. The Ranger Knight takes a close second.
  • OlvynChuruOlvynChuru Member Posts: 3,075
    I noticed that on that list a level 8 fighter is called a Superhero.
  • CheckmateSandersonCheckmateSanderson Member Posts: 50

A couple of tidbits from my last trip down Beregost way...

- If you CTRL-Q a Beregost courtesan in to your party she will gain a level. (clicking the Level Up button will crash the game)

Levelling up any character who has been brought into your party using CTRL-Q will crash the game.
    Yeah, I'm not very technical so I had to learn this the hard way. I assume all NPCs are linked to an XP table which is why they can all effectively trigger the 'Level Up' portrait icon & sound effect?

Nevertheless, the courtesan is the only one I've seen which can "level" at 0xp.
  • Wise_GrimwaldWise_Grimwald Member Posts: 3,852
    I'd forgotten that if you CTRL-Q someone that it is possible to have in your party then there is no problem. I haven't tried it, but I expect that if an NPC left the party for reputation reasons, you could CTRL-Q them back in and recover their possessions before they decided to leave again.
  • FlashburnFlashburn Member Posts: 1,847
    Incidentally, I did a CTRL+Q playthrough a few years ago. Probably the most fun I've had in BG2.
  • lroumenlroumen Member Posts: 2,508
    Sounds just like the Dutch onschuldig... which i think has been used similarly in the past.
  • PokotaPokota Member Posts: 858
    @semiticgod Is there a maximum number of entries the .2da tables for levelling up can have, or some other major technical reason why CTRL-Q Levelups can't be modded in? Aside from the number of classes, I don't see why we can't work around the crash.
  • semiticgoddesssemiticgoddess Member Posts: 14,903